The 2014 Ultimate Football Challenge

The 2014 Ultimate Football Challenge is an expert league I have had the privilege of competing within the last several years. I have yet to win, or even advance beyond the first round of playoffs. The UFC2014 is a 12-team PPR League with six point passing TDS. The last couple of years the league has gone to a slow draft method via email and the MyFantasyLeague.com software. I hate the slow drafts, I feel like I lose my focus and start making picks more to avoid delaying the draft than making the best possible selection. I use the draft list portion of the software to store names I want to remember towards the later round of this huge draft (12 team and 19 rounds). I made a few early picks on my own that turned out to be potential disasters and the league grabbed a few players off my draft list while I was at work and not able to monitor my e-mail. Make no mistake, everyone on this roster was someone I was interested in taking, it is just that because of my own blunders and the draft software, I took them earlier than was ideal.

The strategy was simple. I wanted to draft as much depth at RB and WR as possible and wait for my pick at QB to come to me. I had two choices I liked at QB, one went sooner than anticipated and the jumped at the other and I regret my leap a bit in retrospect. I also planned to grab a Top 10 rated defense and one of my sleeper picks at defense. Instead, I picked a middling defense and one of my sleepers. If things break as anticipated with my running backs I can still be solid, but anything better than that will require my QB1 to look a lot better this season than he has in the pre=season. That or I get lucky.

Here is my roster. You can check out the entire draft here: http://football8.myfantasyleague.com/2014/options?L=33917&O=113&DISPLAY=LEAGUE

Bortles, Blake JAC QB

11

 

Griffin III, Robert WAS QB

297.3

10

 

Smith, Alex KCC QB

347.5

6

 

Bell, Joique DET RB

188.6

9

 

Bell, Le’Veon PIT RB

180.3

12

 

Grimes, Jonathan HOU RB

2.3

10

 

Mathews, Ryan SDC RB

182.9

10

 

Moreno, Knowshon MIA RB

251.7

5

 

Baldwin, Doug SEA WR

158.4

4

 

Cooper, Riley PHI WR

177.4

7

 

Jackson, DeSean WAS WR

264.6

10

 

Marshall, Brandon CHI WR

286.1

9

 

Sanders, Emmanuel DEN WR

176.9

4

 

Stills, Kenny NOS WR (Q)

112.5

6

 

Woods, Robert BUF WR

116.6

9

 

Ertz, Zach PHI TE

99.6

7

 

Zuerlein, Greg STL PK

125.9

4

 

Buccaneers, Tampa Bay TBB Def

128.0

7

 

Steelers, Pittsburgh PIT Def

113.0

12

 
Leave a Reply

